politics and friends

Friends and politics don’t mix. Chances are you won’t agree with your friends all of the time on political issues. Unless you are willing to say good-bye to half of your friends, keep your political views to yourself. That means don’t forward political emails or have political discussions at social gatherings, especially if you aren’t sure if their political views.

Share

2 Responses to “politics and friends”

  1. Nah, I disagree. Politics is a huge part of my identity. If people can’t stand to discuss politics with me, then they’re not really friends. I think it’s perfectly fine and good to discuss politics with friends. I don’t expect all of my friends to agree with my politics, but I do expect them to be able to discuss it intelligently without ruining the friendship.

  2. I also disagree. You can discuss politics without being rude or confrontational. After all, the key behind politics is discussion. If you hide your opinions behind some politically-correct wall of silence, how can you ever change another persons’ mind, or at the very least, verify that what you believe is correct?

Leave a Reply

